History of Mardi Gras

Eureka Springs Mardi Gras is put on by the various Mardi Gras Krewes of Eureka Springs. A Krewe is a group or organization that hosts a Mardi Gras ball, rides on a parade float and/or participates in social events throughout the year; Krewes are plentiful in Louisiana; in Eureka Springs the Krewes are unique. 

The Krewe of Krazo started Eureka Springs Mardi Gras, and what a legacy Eureka Springs Mardi Gras has become! Each year a King, a Queen and a Royal Court of Dukes and Duchesses are proclaimed to reign for the year. Here’s a list of the Kings and Queens, from the very first to present:

I – Bill Ott and Annunziata Scarpino

II – Steve Schmidt and Fatima Treuer

III – Al Hooks and Dani Joy 

IV – Zeek Taylor and Elise Roenigk

V – Richard Bost and Debbie Hartsell

VI – Lamont Richie and Peggy Kjelgaard

VII – Scott Smith and Mary Popovac

VIII – Rod McGuire and Melodye Purdy

IX – George Purvis and Tanya Smith

X – LeRoy Gorrell and Cné Breaux

XI – Steve Roberson and Pam Davenport

XII – Bill Sarad and Tracey Lovett

XIII – Richard Schoenhoffer and Dianna Raye Sturtz

XIV – Charles Mowrey and Marie Lee

XV – Jeff Franco and Kat Beahm

The fun all starts on January 6, with the Krewe du Kork’s Karnival Kickoff  “The Bead-Dazzled Mardi Gras Tree” and ends up with a multi-Wrap Party on March 1 (Fat Tuesday).

See the entire schedule of events in the list to the right….

Cherished Memories of Mardi Gras Fun and Comraderie

Shopping Cart